Hello all! What an interesting day this has been. I’ve never been a Monday person. Mondays seem to sneak up on when you’re most vulnerable and least expecting them….right after a wonderful weekend filled to the brim with excitement. And, then what? You wake up Monday morning absolutely hating your favorite new song that you decided to use as your alarm clock. Was that really smart, in hindsight? I think not.

I’m not sure if it’s the antibiotics starting to show some affect on the Lyme, or perhaps it’s just me feeling “sluggish” after having that cold that’s going around last week. I’m still blowing my nose, but I no longer feel the need to compulsively carry the Kleenex box around with me anymore. So, I’m feeling pretty good on that advancement. It could be winter catching up on me too though. Winter’s not so hot for me. My symptoms of widespread pain, dizziness, nausea, and migraines seem to worsen in the winter. But anyway, I don’t know what it is but I am just so tired. Unbelievably tired. I feel like I’ve been sleepwalking all day, not quite sleeping but not altogether awake either. Interesting feeling. I remember this feeling. And, I don’t like it.

This is the dreaded fatigue of Fibromyalgia and Chronic Fatigue Syndrome. This is one of the symptoms that I’ve fought for years. I was doing so well in the past months that I almost all but forgotten this feeling. (Easy to do with memory loss! An added benefit? Perhaps.) If you’ve experienced this you know what I’m talking about. If not, I’ll try to sum it up. It’s similar to having the flu, but different as well. (I know, I know, that doesn’t help much! It offers a comparison though.) I just feel drowsy, tired, unmotivated to get up and move (which only makes it worse, I know.) For me, it comes along with headaches and muscle aches. My legs ache to walk up and down the stairs, or if I sit for too long in one position. It’s fatigue, plain and simple.

So, for those of you who are asking me today how I’m feeling? My answer: “I’m tired! But, I’m doing alright. No worries there.”

Well, there’s my Lyme update for you all. Not the most pleasant to read. Shall we move on to better things? Ok, I shall. I’m so proud, I was only able to work for a few hours today but in those hours I feel like I accomplished so much! I spent pretty much all day writing, finishing up assignments and reading new ones. But, I knew I wanted to write one of the 8 written works I have due in two weeks at the end of my quarter. I’ve been given almost free-range to write whatever I want in my Creative Writing class. I’ve been so excited to start on them! And today I did.

I waited until my parents were out for a few hours with friends tonight, and I sat down at my computer. I had no idea what I was going to write, but a beginning sentence flew into my mind and I quickly wrote it down before I forgot it. From there, things just flowed. I had no clear idea of where the story was going until I starting typing. It was so much fun, so fulfilling to just sit down and write. Things I usually struggle with creating like names for characters, narrative styles, and story context all just came out. I still don’t know where the story came from that I wrote. But, I’m so proud of it anyways!

I think the best part of it all, was the reaction I got from my mom after she read it tonight. I, of course, can’t remember her exact words. But, she loved it. Just the look on her face as she read the first sentences made me smile! The best complement she gave me however was when she said it “gave her Goosebumps”. What more could I ask for?! Oh wait, I did get more. My dad read it and liked it too! And, I can’t even remember the last time my dad read a novel so I’m so happy he enjoyed it! Thanks for reading it mom & dad! I appreciate it, and hopefully I’ll have some more stories for you to look over this week.

So there’s my news of the day!

       molly


“Tug on anything at all and you will find it connected to everything else in the Universe!” ~ John Muir

 

 

 

 

