It really is so fitting that today, Martin Luther King Jr.’s birthday, is the day before one of the most historic days in the history of the United States- the swearing in of the first African American President. Personally, I’m thrilled about tomorrow’s inauguration. I have complete faith in President-elect Barrack Obama.

 

But, I’ll save that for tomorrow. Tonight I’d like to take a moment to reflect upon Martin Luther King Jr. himself. Reading his “I Have A Dream” speech was perhaps one of my absolute favorite moments in my English class last year. The power, the meaning, and the emotion behind his words truly is immortal. We are forever indebted to him for the changes he helped bring about in our world today.

 

Last summer I was fortunate enough to be able to take a trip to San Francisco with my brother Matt and my sister-in-law Becky. We spent a day just walking around downtown, picking this street or that, turning here or there. I loved it! My favorite place that we “discovered” was a park that happened to be having an outdoor concert at the time. We sat, and listened for a while and then decided to walk around.

 

What did we find on the other side? A beautiful fountain. It took my breath away. But, it wasn’t just a fountain. It was a memorial built to Martin Luther King Jr. There was a stone walkway that you could pass under and walk through. On your right were photos and quotes of MLK’s and on your left was the beautiful water falling, seemingly from above your head and simply cascading downwards. As I walked through the tunnel I was speechless. It was such an amazing memorial. Such beauty, and so inspiring.

 

And so, tonight I’d like to share some of the photos I took of it. I hope you enjoy it as much as I did.

View MLK Memorial

Peace, molly

“No, no, we are not satisfied, and we will not be satisfied until justice rolls down like waters, and righteousness like a mighty stream.”  ~ Martin Luther King in his “I Have A Dream” speech

