Ohmygoodness, what an incredible day!! Am I right? I’m speechless, awestruck, inspired, motivated, excited, and oh so emotional all at the same time! It’s been that way all day, and I have a feeling that those emotions are here to stay for a while.

 

I don’t even know what to say here. I’ve been an Obama supporter for a while now. Politics have always been somewhat of a backstage interest of mine, but when I began reading about Barack Obama and following his campaign, it definitely peaked. Another passion of mine is history; I’ve always loved it and I’ve always wanted to become a part of it. Well, with this election I honestly feel that we have all played an important part in the history of our great country. What an incredible giant leap forward we’ve all taken. I only wish I was old enough to have voted!

 

But, back to the history.

 

My mind is boggling at what happened today. It’s odd actually, before President Obama ran for office I had never thought about when a black man would become president. I knew the day would come, it didn’t worry me. I think that’s normal in my generation however.

 

But, as soon as I began to think about it, and I mean really think about it, I knew it was time. It was time, and we were ready. Our country has opened so many doors today. People all over the world are celebrating with us. I find that not only humbling, but gratifying.

 

I’m curious to see what this great man will do as he steps into the role of commander-in-chief. All eyes are on him now, and I don’t envy him that. Instead I pray, and yes, I hope that he will indeed be able to calm the troubled waters and bring the change we all so desperately need.

 

I know I will never forget this moment, this day, or this amazing whirlwind that has caught a hold of our  country in a time when we needed it most. This man has brought the country together, and hopefully he can help us forge ahead in the years to come.

 

Peace, molly

 

“Let it be said by our children’s children that when we were tested we refused to let this journey end, that we did not turn back nor did we falter; and with eyes fixed on the horizon and God’s grace upon us, we carried forth that great gift of freedom and delivered it safely to future generations.”  ~ President Barack Obama in his Inauguration speech ( 1/20/08 )

