Hey everyone! It has been so long since I felt able to write, it’s good to be finally back to normal. I’ve missed this nightly ritual in the past weeks. And, let me just thank all those that continued to check up on me while I was “missing in action”! As I’m sure most of you know, or have presumed, I had a pretty nasty and scary herx reaction that lasted 3 weeks. I’m much better now, and have been steadily improving for a week.

 

It was horrible though. I had heard and read about other’s herxs but until you’ve had a bad (*read that as mind numbingly awful and unbelievably painful) one yourself, it’s truly hard to appreciate the meaning of the words. But, I survived. Granted, it took a month’s supply of migraine meds, equal amounts of pain killers, a trip to the ER, several visits to my chiropractor, as well as a new (lesser) dosage of antibiotics and a heck of a lot of detoxing. But I did it! Thanks to my amazing parents who were there for me the entire time. I couldn’t have done it without them.

 

My latest road bump as been double vision. It’s been, oh almost 3 weeks now (do I sense a pattern??) I think. It started during the herx and we just assumed it was part of the migraine. But that didn’t make sense when the migraine finally settled down and I was still seeing people with 2 heads and walking into walls. Thinking it over it actually started beforehand with blurry vision, that gradually became double. It’s been tough, especially with my already-present vestibular disorder that causes dizziness. Let’s hope this doesn’t last too much longer… But seriously I have been improving. This week I’ve been able to keep the eye patch-wearing to a minimal amount and have discovered what triggers it so I’m better able to stave it off. I’ve got an appointment with my LLMD (Lyme Literate Medical Doctor) this week, so we’ll see what she has to say about it. Nice photo though huh? I’m thinking the black is a little boring…. I’ll see what I can do about decorating it :) It needs something…. thoughts anyone? I’m thinking of painting one of those dizzying spirals on it so that everyone who looks at me gets just a wee bit dizzy… fun, no?!

 

In other news, I’ve been dizzy and unbalanced (did I say that?) enough to break out a cane. We didn’t have one that fit me anymore so I borrowed my brother’s extra one. It’s nice to have, but I hate using it. I always did. For one thing, it’s beyond me on how you walk with them. I mean, really, it’s harder than it looks! I’m also beginning to get more and more into the book Cure Unknown. My LLMD suggested I read it as soon as my diagnosis was confirmed, but I just haven’t been too excited about it until now. I’ve heard enough about it though to keep me reading, little pieces at a time. It’s finally all clicking in and making sense. It’s actually a pretty good book; I’m glad we bought it. It’s a good reference. As soon as I’m done with it it’ll be my mom’s turn.

 

More good news, it’s my spring break this week! I’ve got a million things to do and only a few days to do them in. We’ll see how that works out. It will give me the time to get back my blog however!

 

Peace, molly

 

“Through humor, you can soften some of the worst blows that life delivers. And once you find laughter, no matter how painful your situation might be, you can survive it.” – Bill Cosby

