Have I mentioned I placed in the Minnesota state charter school essay contest? I don’t remember. I very well could have, or I just as likely forgot to. Either way, I did! I’m so proud. I placed second with an opinion essay about my school. I wrote the essay at the last minute at the end of last quarter and honestly forgot all about it. Then a few weeks ago my English teacher called me to share the good news. I was shocked! It’s the second year in a row someone from my school {BlueSky Online Charter School} has placed and they’re ecstatic about it as well.

 

So tomorrow is my big day. Or it’ll at least have a few interesting hours. Tomorrow morning I’ve been invited to read my essay on the steps of the state capital during a charter school event. I’m not sure what else is happening, or what it will all entail. But I’ve been told to bring my essay to read and be prepared to stay for a few hours. Will do.

 

I’m so excited! A bit nervous, but not too much. Although, maybe I should be… I haven’t done any public speaking in a while :)

 

I have a hard time reading a speech, or an essay, because continually moving my head up and down to look from my paper to the crowd causes me a lot of dizziness. I would compensate by memorizing parts of the material, but with my memory slipping more and more each day that’s just not realistic! I haven’t successfully been able to memorize anything since I began middle school. I was lucky just to remember my locker combination every morning last year. Oh well, I’ll do the best I can. That’s all I can ask of myself.

 

I know I’m going to have a great time, but some extra luck sent in my direction wouldn’t be misguided!

Peace and healing, molly

 

“For each petal on the shamrock this brings a wish your way. Good health, good luck, and happiness for today and every day.” ~ Irish Blessing

 

Photo courtesy of Flickr.com

