Some time ago I came across this website, The Lyme Awareness Art Project. It was shortly after I began treatment, and was a bittersweet discovery for me. The website was started by a woman with neurological Lyme Disease herself, who used her art as a way to both give herself something to hold onto during her experiences and as a way to bring attention to the real people behind the disease. It’s expanded now to have a few pages of submitted poetry and artwork by others with Lyme.

 

On the one hand, it helped me to see other people driven towards inspiration and creativity with this debilitating disease. I wasn’t alone. I mean, I knew I wasn’t. But this was like visual proof to me. I’ve found writing and artwork to be a comfort to me during my months of treatment. My creativity seems to be unclogging, to my great relief. But on the other hand finding this website was hard. Many poems were difficult for me to read. They had such anguish and pain in them, understandably. But I wasn’t ready for that.

 

I navigated back to the site every once and a while, but had mostly forgotten about it until last week when I read a posting on a Lyme support group. The member had just submitted some work to the site, and it had been put online. She was so excited! It made me think…. “Wait a minute. I could do that!”.

 

I even had a poem. In January I had written a poem entitled “How It Feels To Be Me…” for my English class. I don’t write poetry very often. I actually find it very difficult to do. I end up feeling rather vulnerable about it in the end. Writing this poem was very freeing to me though. It came flowing out, and it felt so right. And, surprise, surprise it turned out to be about living with my newly diagnosed disease. Perfect for the online gallery, right?

 

So I took the plunge and emailed my submission. I just heard back, it’s been put up online this week! You can find it here:

My Poem

Scroll down to the very bottom of the page, and it’s right in the middle. Read a few others too!

 

I hope you enjoy it. I’ll be posting it here as well. Look for a page soon with some of my writing on it.

 

Peace and healing, molly

 

“Live your daily life in a way that you never lose yourself. When you are carried away with your worries, fears, cravings, anger, and desire, you run away from yourself and you lose yourself. The practice is always to go back to oneself.” –Thich Nhat Hanh
