I don’t know about anyone else, but I really, really needed a vacation. I was so looking forward to this week. Every year my mom’s family has a reunion of types at our lake property over the 4th of July. It’s one of my favorite times of the year, and one of my favorite holidays. And that’s because not only am I at my cabin, one of my favorite places on earth, but I’m with my family. Family is really important to me, and the 4th is one of the few times a year that I’m able to spend time with my extended relatives. So, with all that’s been going on recently I couldn’t wait until we got here.

 

me @ lake superiorMy mom and I left with my dog Wilson early Sunday morning. The drive was beautiful. For a change of pace we drove past Duluth, MN and along Lake Superior before we continued up into Northern WI. I’d never been to Duluth before, and I’d certainly never seen any of the Great Lakes. Which is almost a sin, since we live so close. It was absolutely heavenly. The lake was gorgeous. I love any body of water, but seeing that lake made me wish for an ocean.

 

The weather was a bit of a let-down; we had dressed for a warm, sunny, summer day but by the time we reached the lake it was chilly and clouded over. We enjoyed it anyway! The pier was insanely windy, and I got shivers from the cold water as the waves crashed over my feet in the sand. I was upbeat and ready for action, but halfway through the eight hour drive I lost energy. A slight pick-me-up surfaced however when we stopped at a road-side stand to buy a bucket of fresh picked strawberries! Three days and a pie later, and we’re still eating them. So delicious! It’s amazing what local, fresh strawberries taste like. They’re jam-packed with flavor. So we snacked on strawberries and I read aloud a Aaron Elkins mystery as my mom drove us through MI and down into WI again.Mom @ Lake Superior

 

We arrived just as the rain was beginning to sprinkle again, and we quickly unloaded all of our bags and boxes of gluten-free food for the week. The rain has since stopped, but there’s a chill in the still damp air. I’m hoping it’ll warm up tomorrow, or Thursday. I packed more swim suits than I did sweatshirts! Seriously, who would plan for this weather?

 

So since we can’t be outside we’ve made due inside. My biggest accomplishment? I made a gluten-free strawberry pie out of those delicious strawberries yesterday! I’ll post pictures and the recipe I used soon. And still on the list- another pie, although this one will be blueberry and I’m reading a wonderful book that’s been nearly impossible to put down. I knew I picked a good book to read up here! The rest of my family starts arriving tomorrow, Thursday and Friday. I’m looking forward to it.

 

More later. I know, I’m due to post an update soon. I haven’t forgotten!

Peace and healing, molly

 

“Find what brings you joy and go there.” – Jan Phillips
