I’m off to the Capital!

Tomorrow afternoon is the senate hearing for the Minnesota Lyme bill, otherwise known as S.F. 1631. The bill is striving to protect the rights of both doctors and patients in the treatment of Lyme Disease.

I’m very curious about this process. It should be pretty interesting, if not madly overwhelming.

Wish us good luck!

More details can be found here and here.

I’ll post a follow-up as soon as I can!

 

(2-9-10) UPDATE: The hearing yesterday went about as well as I could have expected! It was a long, drawn out few hours filled with both Doctor and patient testimonies. We certainly packed the house, that’s for sure! It was surreal to see so many other people there who were affected by Lyme; but it was a reassuring feeling as we got down to business.

Long story short – The bill was approved after a 5 to 3 vote on the senate committee level, and will now be passed onto the senate floor!

Oh, sweet victory!

We’ll take them as they come, and hold our breath as we wait for the legislative process to continue. I’m so happy that I was able to attend the hearing, and see this process with my own eyes. Parts were emotional, irritating, nerve-wracking, and overall hilarious. But in the end it was worth it.

This article has been floating around my Lyme circles today on Facebook and Twitter. Check it out!

Legislators hear testimony about treatment of Lyme disease

 

“May good luck be your friend in whatever you do and may trouble be always a stranger to you.” – Irish blessing

